top of page

Executive Minister - Dr. James M. Harrison












Rev. Dr. James Mitchell Harrison, former President of ABCOTS (2011-2013), was elected to serve the Region of the South as Regional Executive Minister on Thursday, April 16, 2015, following the recommendation of the Search Committee, and an affirmative vote of the Region’s Board of Directors, and body of delegates attending the 45th Annual Session held in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.
Dr. Harrison, the fourth person to come to this position, succeeds the Rev. Dr. Walter L. Parrish, II, who led the region for 36 years, beginning January 1979.  Dr. Harrison began his duties on August 1, 2015.
Dr. Harrison serves Main Street Baptist Church in Smithfield, Virginia, as Pastor, a post he has served since December 1996. He was ordained by the Ministers Council of Area II, Region of the South, in November 1983. Drs. Henry and Ella Pearson Mitchell served as Examiners. Dr. Harrison began his professional career at the Zion Union Baptist Church in Charlottesville, Virginia, serving as Administrative Assistant to the Pastor. The late Rev. Raymond Allen Hailes was the Pastor and became mentor to Dr. Harrison.
He has served five (5) other pastorates across Virginia. He has done adjunct teaching with Virginia’s Community College System for the past 17 years, and served as an institutional chaplain with the Chaplain’s Service of the Churches of Virginia. Additionally, he sits on several boards of Directors, including Community Housing Partners of Virginia, Inc.
Dr. Harrison holds degrees from the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia (B.A.), 1983; the School of Theology at Virginia Union University, Richmond, Virginia (M.Div.), 1986; and United Theological Seminary at Dayton, Ohio (D.Min), 1997.

Board of Directors

ABCOTS Executive Committee

2019 - 2021


Dr. Arrold Martin

First Baptist Church Capitol Hill
Nashville, TN          

(615) 876-9751 (Res)



1st Vice President

Dr. Betty Long
First Baptist Church Hampton
Hampton, VA
(757) 722-3351


2nd Vice President

Rev. Dr. Wayne G. Thompson

First Baptist Institutional Church

3144 Third Avenue, S.,
St. Petersburg, FL 33712-1018


Mrs. Wendy Ladd
Friendship Missionary Baptist Church
Charlotte, NC
(704) 763-0298 (Cell)


Assistant Secretary





Ms. Carlotta Vaughn
Whitestone Baptist Church
Baltimore, MD 

(410) 947-1863 (CH)

Ass’t Treasurer

Ms. Denise Ruffin
Providence Baptist Church
Baltimore, MD                   
(410) 908-6664 (Cell)

Immediate Past President

Rev. Dr. Douglas E. Summers

Providence Baptist Church

1401 Pennsylvania Avenue

Baltimore, MD 21217-3784

Executive Minister

Dr. James M. Harrison

7008 Security Blvd

Suite 120

Baltimore, MD 21244-2568

Main Street Baptist Church, Smithfield, VA

(757) 635-8958 (cell) | (443) 551-3045 (office) | (443) 551-3565 (fax)





Mr. T. Harding Lacy, Jr.

3027 Moss Side Avenue

Richmond, VA 23222

Ebenezer Baptist Church, Richmond

(703) 855-2192 (cell)








Headquarters Staff

7008 Security Blvd., Suite 120 Baltimore, MD 21244-2568
OFFICE (443) 551-3045 | 1-800-466-9571  |  FAX (443) 551-3565


Executive Minister
Dr. James M. Harrison
Main Street Baptist Church
Smithfield, VA

(800) 466-9571 (O)


Executive Assistant

Gloria Dairsow



Mr. Paul White



Interim - General Secretary



Rev. Dr. C. Jeff Woods


P.O. Box 851

Valley Forge, PA 19482-0851

(800) 222-3872 xt. 2274

annual session b
annual session 3
harrison family
Arrold Martin President 2019 - Copy.jpg
2 Betty Long First Vice - Copy.jpg
Wendy Ladd.jpg
Denise Ruffin.jpg
Carlotta Vaughn.jpg
Dr. Summers.jpg
Dr Thompson.jpg
bottom of page